July 7th, 2011
The Community of Democracies held its 6th Minitsterial Conference on 1 July, 2011. The conference was accompanied with Civil Society Forum, Women Enhancing Democracy: Best Practices, Road to Democracy: Role of Community of Democracies.

The conference adopted Vilnius Declaration which stresses the need to strengthen the activities of the Community of Democracies and focuses on an initiative aimed at helping other countries that are now in the process of transition to a democracy.
Within the framework of the US State Secretary Hillary Clinton and Lithuanian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Audronius Azubalis met with civil society representatives.
The Institute for Reporters’ Freedom and Safety Director Emin Huseynov attended the Youth Forum on June 30 as well. He spoke about the use of new technologies by youth activists in Azerbaijan in delivering their messages to society and other youths.
Next Ministerial Committee of the Community of Democracies will be hosted by Ulan Bator, Mongolia.
Community of Democracies is a global intergovernmental coalition of democratic countries, with the goal of promoting democratic rules and strengthening democratic norms and institutions around the world.
Community of Democracies was founded in 2000 during a Ministerial Conference in Warsaw. The conference was the idea and initiative of the then Polish Minister of Foreign Affairs, prof. Bronisław Geremek and the former U.S. Secretary of State, Dr. Madeleine Albright. In 2000 in Warsaw ministerial delegations from 106 countries from all around the world signed the final declaration Toward the Community of Democracies, naming values which constitute a democracy.