European Court of Human Rights Investigating Azerbaijani Travel Bans

The European Court of Human Rights has started communication on a complaint submitted by a group of Azerbaijani journalists banned from leaving the country. These journalists are Aynur Elgunash, Aytaj Ahmadova, Natig Javadli and Khadija Ismayilova.

The first three of them have been subjected to a travel ban as part of the criminal proceedings related to Meydan TV’s activities, while Khadija Ismayilova has fallen under the ban for being under a conditional jail sentence.
The Strasbourg Court has asked the government of Azerbaijan to submit its comments by 17 January 2018.

Previous Post

Court Delays Khadija’s Hearing Regarding Travel Ban

Next Post

IFEX calls for Mehman Huseynov’s freedom

Start typing to see posts you are looking for.